My 2017 Adventure List

Every year in January I sit down and make two lists of goals. One is a more serious, organized list: health and fitness goals, writing goals, financial goals. Blah, blah, adult stuff.

The second set of goals is my Adventure List: a list of experiences I want to have this coming year. Things I want to try, see, do, create, purchase, or accomplish that will make my life just a little more interesting. They’re fun and freeing, like goals but without the stifling pressure.

I’ve made an Adventure List every year for over 10 years now. Every January, I review my list from the previous year and write one for the coming year. I don’t agonize over it; instead, I think about  where I want to go, habits I want to form, weird things I want to try. Some of the goals stretch me and make me nervous to write down. (“Can I really do this?”) Some of them are small and silly. (“I should have done this years ago.”)

And, because it involves things that I’m interested in, I find myself accomplishing most of the items on my list every year. It’s a rewarding ritual to go back and realize how much richer my life has become over the last year.

I tack my Adventure List on my wall next to my desk, where I see it every time I’m avoiding writing or trying to think of the right word.

Here was last year’s Adventure List.

IMG_20170104_143926259.jpg

 

I did most of these–except for 10 pull ups (I maxed out at 7), learning to downhill ski (sigh), and visiting my friend Beth in Alaska (hopefully soon!).

Notable adventures from 2016 that were spawned by the List were

  • mountain biking in gorgeous British Columbia
  • building a capsule wardrobe last spring
  • sewing six pillow cases (it’s a MIRACLE!)
  • taking a class on freelance writing from MediaBistro
  • watching an amazing rendition of ‘The Tempest’ in Boston w/ Nash
  • and yes, buying Boggle. (Don’t judge me.) (Boggle definitely counts as an adventure.)

So, without further ado, here’s my Adventure List for 2017!

IMG_20170104_143937484.jpg

I’m excited to see where 2017 takes me! And, if you don’t do something similar already, put some pen to paper with an Adventure List for a more adventurous 2017!

6 thoughts on “My 2017 Adventure List

    • Jessie says:

      Yeah, I really like doing some of my fun resolutions this way! It sortof takes the pressure off and lets me be more creative. I’d definitely recommend it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jessie says:

      Hey thanks! I’m excellent at keeping goals in January and February, it’s the rest of the year when it gets a little tricky…

      Like

Leave a Reply

